John Craton
Mandolin Concerto No. 3 in E Minor. Subtitled “Verdun, 1916,” the concerto commemorates the Battle of Verdun and is dedicated to the memory of all the soldiers who fought bravely in this great conflict, regardless of the colors under which they served. It attempts to convey both the sacrifice and the ultimate triumph of the human spirit in wartime. The concerto consists of three movements (1. Allegro agitato—Allegro non troppo—Allegro agitato; 2. Adagio—Décha—ner—Adagio; 3. Rapide—Moderato—Rapide) and is scored for solo mandolin, strings, and percussion. This edition has been transcribed for mandolin and piano.

Pages: 28 pp. (piano pt.), 11 pp. (mandolin pt.), 8½” x 11”
Level: Advanced
Performance Time: App. 20 min.

MIDIs of this work can be heard here

Click on score for larger image

Close Window or Go to Catalogue