John Craton
Elementals. A set of four concert pieces for flute and piano, the movements offer musical portraits of the four elemental spirits of European folklore: “Gnomes,” spirits of the earth who tend to the soil and geologic formations and who are often depicted as gnarled old men in pointed hats; “Sylphs,” spirits of the air who inspire artists and poets; “Salamanders,” spirits of fire who, like fire, live only for the moment; and “Undines,” spirits of water who usually manifest themselves as beautiful maidens with graceful movement.

Pages: 20 pp., score; 9 pp., flute part; 8½” x 11”
Level: Advanced
Performance Time: App. 12 min.

MIDIs of this work can be heard here

Click on score to see larger image

Close Window or Go to Catalogue