John Craton
Mandolin Concerto No. 1 in D Minor. Written for mandolinist Victor Kioulaphides, the concerto is largely conventional in style and features solo mandolin with string orchestra in three movements: Allegro; Adagio (“Alabama Lullaby”); Allegretto. The work was premiered by Dutch mandolinist Ferdinand Binnendijk and the Orkest van het Oosten in Zwolle, Netherlands, in 2006. This edition has been transcribed for mandolin and piano.

Pages: 36 pp. (piano pt.), 11 pp. (mandolin pt.), 8½” x 11”
Level: Advanced
Performance Time: App. 17 min.

Videos of the premiere performance of this work, with Ferdinand Binnendijk and Het Orkest van het Oosten, can be viewed here

Click on score for larger image

Close Window or Go to Catalogue